Westfield Washington Public Library
333 West Hoover St. Westfield Indiana 46074
317.896.9391 phone | 317.896.3702 fax

Book Groups

Currently we have two groups, Mystery and General Fiction, which meet once a month. Both groups meet in the Sumner Room starting at 1:00 p.m. on their scheduled day. All meetings are informal and there is no need to sign up in advance. Everyone is welcome. The materials selected are available at the library and in paperback edition.


Upcoming Selections

January 21, 2015 Regular Book Group Selection – Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler

When beautiful, reckless Southern belle Zelda Sayre meets F. Scott Fitzgerald at a country club dance in 1918, she is seventeen years old and he is a young army lieutenant stationed in Alabama. Before long, the "ungettable" Zelda has fallen for him despite his unsuitability: Scott isn't wealthy or prominent or even a Southerner, and keeps insisting, absurdly, that his writing will bring him both fortune and fame. Her father is deeply unimpressed. But after Scott sells his first novel, This Side of Paradise, to Scribner's, Zelda optimistically boards a train north, to marry him in the vestry of St. Patrick's Cathedral and take the rest as it comes.

February 4, 2015 Mystery Book Group Selection – The Keeper of Lost Causes by Jussi Adler-Olsen

The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Carl Mørck used to be one of Copenhagen's best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl—who didn't draw his weapon—blames himself. So a promotion is the last thing he expects. But Department Q is a department of one, and Carl's got only a stack of Copenhagen's coldest cases for company. His colleagues snicker, but Carl may have the last laugh, because one file keeps nagging at him: a liberal politician vanished five years earlier and is presumed dead. But she isn't dead … yet.

 


Book Reviews

Couldn't make it to the book group? Check out the reviews below to see what you missed.

 

Don't have time to join a traditional book club? Try an online version.

Have questions about the book clubs or would like to make a suggestion? Call Carly at 317.896.9391 or email librarian@wwpl.lib.in.us


Book Group Resources Online

Book Group Buzz
Blog from Booklist includes helpful tips on book group etiquette & reading selections.

Good Reads
Free social website for readers to track their books and get recommendations from others.

Library Thing
Community of book lovers that allows you to catalog up to 100 books at no cost.

LitLovers
Book club ideas, reviews and recipes including a great guide on how to start a reading group.

Reading Group Guides
Access over 3000 book discussion guides and check out the most popular book group selections.